Published: Mon, January 09, 2017
Money | By Oscar Reynolds

Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: Mayawati releases third list of 100 BSP candidates

Uttar Pradesh elections 2017: Mayawati releases third list of 100 BSP candidates

BSP chief Mayawati on Tuesday cautioned Muslims in Uttar Pradesh not to split their votes and said Dalits won't be swayed by hollow words. The BSP cadre was also asked to focus on the ongoing family feud in SP apart from bad law and order situation in Uttar Pradesh.

BSP on Sunday announced its final list of candidates for its 101 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh.

Elections to the state assembly, which has 403 seats, are due to take place in seven phases spread between 11 February and 8 March.

Muslims are considered the traditional votebank of the ruling Samajwadi Party.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has so far announced 300 candidates for the 403-member assembly.

Analysts feel that in a three-cornered fight in the state, a fragmented Muslim vote, which accounts for over 18% of the state's electorate, will help the BJP gain an edge.

As the Uttar Pradesh Elections approach the war of words between the political parties seems to be heating up.

"The Samajwadi Party has been divided into two. If she manages to direct the entire Muslim vote her way, she could pose a tough challenge to BJP and SP", said Lucknow-based political analyst S.K. Dwivedi. Earlier this week, Ms Mayawati had announced that of the total Assembly seats in UP, the major chunk of 113 seats will go to the upper caste Brahmins, who will be getting the major share of 66 seats, Thakurs 36 and rest 11 will go to Kayasth, Vaishya and others.

"During all the four governments, BSP has worked in the interest of all castes besides the dalits", she said, adding that her party has also demanded quota on economic basis for the upper castes both in and outside Parliament.

Like this: