Published: Tue, June 20, 2017
World | By Carl Welch

Presidential poll: Consultations over, NDA to soon announce pick

Presidential poll: Consultations over, NDA to soon announce pick

The BJP leaders last week said the NDA is "absolutely confident" of the win of its candidates in both the presidential and vice-presidential elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday arrived at the BJP headquarters to attend the party's Parliamentary Board meeting called to discuss and select the party's candidate for the July 17 presidential election.

The BJP is expected to win the Presidential election comfortably.

They said they will get back to us with a name later.

"The decision will be taken soon and the name of the Presidential candidate will be announced before June 23", Naidu told media here. "He told me that his stand is clear and whatever PM Narendra Modi decides will be acceptable to him".

The nomination is expected to be submitted on June 23 - Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to be present for the submission before he departs for the United States the next day. Mr Shah said had any name been cited, the opposition would have complained that the government has already made up its mind.

Later, Naidu called on home minister Rajnath Singh.

"During the meeting (with Naidu and Rajnath), they wanted a consensus but did not come up with a name".

Thackeray is also understood to have informed Shah that the BJP must announce first its candidate for The Presidency before his party can take a decision on whether to support the nominee. "We are friendly with the Centre, but not in alliance with anyone".

BJP has completed its consultation exercise for the presidential poll after holding deliberations with opposition parties as well as NDA partners.

On the other hand, several BJP leaders have claimed that the party's choice for the post of the President will be a political person with strong BJP affiliation.

Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge, JD (U) leader Sharad Yadav, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Lalu Prasad Yadav, CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury, TMC leader Derek O'Brien, Samajwadi Party's Ram Gopal Yadav, BSP's Satish Chandra Mishra, DMK leader R. S. Bharathi and NCP's Praful Patel are part of the sub-group.

Like this: